Euro 2020: How many teams will be playing in the tournament, and how many cities will host fixtures?

EURO 2020 will be a unique tournament that will not be hosted by a single nation or joint bid.

It will mark 60 years of the competition and also sees countries gain more opportunities to qualify.

Credit: Getty Images – Getty

Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin has continued to organise the unique Euro 2020 tournament, after his disgraced predecessor Michel Platini laid the groundwork

How many teams will play at Euro 2020?

The previous European Championships saw a expanded tournament of 24 teams, with Euro 2020 continuing on from that.

Yet, countries have previously only reached the tournament through qualifying.

They now have another opportunity in the Uefa Nations League, with four places on offer.

With the inaugural competition split into four leagues, dependant on rank, a spot will be awarded to a nation ranked between 40th and 55th by the European football governing body.

Among those sides are San Marino and the newly formed Kosovo.

  • WIN £50,000! Dream Team Euros – FREE fantasy football game
  • ⚽️ Euro squads: All of the players picked so far
  • ??????? Euro 2020 betting special: England 35/1 to beat Croatia
  • ⚽️ Fixtures: When to watch all your Euro 2020 matches
  • ??????? Betting special: Get England at 20/1 to wear home kit vs Croatia
  • ⚽️ Build-up LIVE: Latest news and updates from around the teams

How many cities will host matches?

In previous European Championships, there has been a single bid by nations.

However, the 2020 version sees the tournament spread across 12 cities in different countries in Europe.

Among those are Wembley, which will host seven matches including both semi-finals and the final on July 12.

The full list of cities are:

  • Wembley Stadium – London, England
  • Allianz Arena – Munich, Germany
  • Stadio Olimpico – Rome, Italy
  • Olympic Stadium – Baku, Azerbaijan
  • Krestovsky Stadium – Saint Petersburg, Russia
  • Arena Nationala – Bucharest, Romania
  • Johan Cruyff Arena – Amsterdam, Holland
  • Estadio de la Cartuja – Sevilla, Spain
  • Puskas Arena – Budapest, Hungary
  • Hampden Park – Glasgow, Scotland
  • Parken Stadium – Copenhagen, Denmark


    Source: Read Full Article