Where are Leicester's title winning side from 2015-16 with just FIVE players left in squad as Demarai Gray leaves?

LEICESTER Premier League-winning side of 2015-16 provided one of the biggest shocks in sporting history – but only FIVE players remain at the club.

Manager Claudio Ranieri led the Foxes to an unthinkable 5,000-1 miracle,winning the title by ten points from second-placed Arsenal.

The Italian set up with a solid 4-4-2 formation and relied heavily on the brilliance of N'Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy.

But just nine months later Ranieri was sacked with Leicester finishing the following season 12th.

Here SunSport looks at where their famous league winners are now after Demarai Gray became the latest to leave.

GK – Kasper Schmeichel

The Dane and son of legend Peter has cemented himself as a Foxes' hero having stayed at the club since signing in 2011.

He is one of the few remaining since lifting the title in 2016 and captains the side in the absence of skipper Wes Morgan.

Schmeichel surpassed 400 games for Leicester in January, making him ninth in the list of most appearances for the club.

RB – Danny Simpson

Simpson left King Power in 2019 after 133 games and five years.

He joined Huddersfield Town after his release but stayed for just one season.

The right-back has not announced his retirement, and continues to train as a free agent, with the coronavirus pandemic halting a potential transfer.

CB – Wes Morgan

Morgan, who still captains Leicester, was a key leader in their sensational Premier League winning season.

He remained a regular at centre-back until 2018, following the emergence of Harry Maguire and Jonny Evans's partnership.

The Jamaican international has chipped in with appearances from off the bench and in cup competitions this season.

CB – Robert Huth

Huth formed a formidable partnership with Morgan in central defence.

But after missing the entire 2017/18 season with ankle and foot injuries, the German left the club.

Despite speculation linking Huth to a new club, he later announced his retirement.

LB – Christian Fuchs

Left-back Fuchs is another title winner who still remains at the club.

But by 2018 he lost his place in the starting line-up to Ben Chilwell – now at Chelsea.

The Austrian has since stayed but provides cover for James Justin, who has moved over from the right to accommodate Ricardo Pereira.

CM – N'Golo Kante

Kante joined Leicester from French side Caen for just £5.6m and ended up with a league winners medal in his first season.

His energy and defensive prowess proved vital for the underdog champions but ultimately it led to heavy transfer interest.

Kante stayed for just that one glorious season before signing for Chelsea, where he immediately completed back-to-back titles. The Frenchman remains at Stamford Bridge.

CM – Danny Drinkwater

Kante's defensive midfield partner lasted only six months longer at Leicester before making the same move to Chelsea.

But the ex-England international has suffered contrasting success, and never held down a position in the Blues squad.

Drinkwater has had three loans since his £40m move to Chelsea and currently plays for Kasimpasa in Turkey.

RM – Riyad Mahrez

Mahrez scored 17 goals and provided ten assists on the way to title success, while being named Player of The Season.

After one more season with the Foxes, he moved to Manchester City, where he still plays.

At the Etihad, he picked up another Premier League title as well as an FA Cup and two League Cup winners medals.

LM – Marc Albrighton

Albrighton competed with Jeffrey Schlupp during the Foxes' glory campaign.

He still remains at the club where he similarly fights for a spot in the starting line-up.

But recently he has become a regular under boss Brendan Rodgers, credited for his work rate and speed.

ST – Jamie Vardy

The prolific finisher had a breakout season in 2015-16, scoring 24 goals in the league, one behind golden boot winner Harry Kane.

Vardy remained loyal to Leicester and snubbed a move away to instead stay at the club, where he is approaching 150 goals.

The pacey forward is enjoying another successful season in front of goal, forming a dynamic duo with playmaker James Maddison.

ST – Shinji Okazaki

Okazaki won the title in his first season with the club but by 2018 he lost his place in the starting line-up.

He was released by Leicester in 2019 and joined Malaga, where he made just one appearances in the first team, coming on in a cup tie.

The forward then left to join Huesca, where he currently resides.

Notable other exits

Ben Chilwell – Left-back spent the title winning season on loan at Huddersfield. He left Leicester last summer for Chelsea.

Demarai Gray – The winger picked up a Premier League winners medal, but six seasons on, he completed a move to Bayer Leverkusen.

Jeffrey Schlupp – The wideman left the Foxes one year after winning the league for Crystal Palace, where he remains today.

Source: Read Full Article