Post-Brexit ex-pat residency deal struck with non-EU nations

London: The British government has agreed to allow citizens of Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein already living in Britain to remain after Brexit even if the country leaves the European Union without a deal.

British Union flags fly in front of The Houses of Parliament in London.Credit:AP

The agreement should remove the uncertainty a "hard" Brexit scenario posed for some 15,000 citizens of the three non-EU nations who live in Britain.

The deal's reciprocal arrangement also clarifies plans for some 17,000 British citizens who reside in Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

A truck passes the Norwegian border towards Sweden.Credit:AP

Those countries aren't EU members, but belong to the much-smaller European Economic Area-European Free Trade Agreement (EEA EFTA) group. Group spokesman Thorfinnur Omarsson said the agreement secured their citizens' rights in Britain "regardless of the outcome of negotiations between the EU and the UK."


Source: Read Full Article